Premium Joomla Template by HostMonster Reviews

California Becomes Second State to Offer Paid Sick Leave

California has became only the second state (after Connecticut) to guarantee at least some annual paid sick leave for most full and part-time employees. The bill, entitled the “Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act,” (AB 1522, Gonzales, D-San Diego) passed with hefty majorities in the Assembly and Senate, and Governor Brown signed it on September 10.  

Read more: California Becomes Second State to Require Paid Sick Leave

Notices for Employees Related to Health Plans

Employers are required to provide certain notices to employees, whether they provide health insurance to their employees or not; here is a brief summary of the notices you are required to provide:

Read more: Model Notices for Health Plans

 How to Handle an Employee’s Request for Accommodation

Courtesy Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM)


Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) requires employers to provide reasonable accommodation to qualified applicants and employees with a disability unless the employer can demonstrate that doing so creates an undue hardship to the employer or poses a direct threat to the safety of the employee or others in the workplace. An accommodation may include a change to the work environment or to the way in which a job is usually performed.

Read more: Handling Employee Requests for Accomodations

Your Post - July 1 To-Do List

Legislators and Regulators are constantly changing the landscape for California farm employers.  Here are a few things you should remember to do in July:

Read more: Your Post - July To-Do List

EPA WPA Pesticide Revisions

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency is updating its Worker Protection Standard after more than 20 years.

Read more: EPA Pesticide WPA Revisions

Piece Rate Employees Must be Paid for All Time

In Gonzalez v. Downtown LA Motors, the court ruled that an employer may not conclude that an employee was paid at least minimum wage for all hours worked in a pay period if the employee's piece-rate earnings for that period divided by the number of hours in that period worked equals at least the California minimum wage of $8 an hour - at least where the employer directed the employee to also do non-piece-rate tasks.

Read more: Piece Rate Employees Must be Paid for All Time